Chronicles of Imaginus: Book 2

What would you know? I’m already on the fourth blog post. Awesome. Anywho, this post is a continuation of the previous post, so if you haven’t read it, you might want to go back a post. Or not. It really doesn’t matter, you know.

Okay. Imaginus. Book 2. Let’s talk about that. Picture a scene with me, all right? It’s June of last year. I’m sitting in a van. It’s a long car trip. I’ve listened to music, read a book, messed around with some apps on my iPod, and am now bored. I pull out my Kindle and open up a notes app, and type in the following:

Time: After the school year during vacation. Chad and Kristy will go to their asenior year in the fall. Chad is still 17 as his birthday is in January. Dayne will be 17 in October.
Prologue: Geolark leader, dabbler in witchcraft, black magic, etc. Working to create a spell or device or whatnot to use on Chad, the Chosen of the One. He has seen their arrival and knows they are coming.
That was the beginning of the second book in the Chronicles of Imaginus series. I had absolutely no idea where this was going to go, but I ended up writing a one sentence summary on what I planned on doing in the book, which was the following: Evil guy uses a signal to draw Chad to his lair and then uses some. .device (work on idea) to control Chad, sort of like Yeerks in order to bring Dayne and Kristy over to his lair to use them to rule Imaginus.

What evil person? What device? I had no clue. But I told myself that November was still far off, so I didn’t have to worry. For the next couple of months, I worked on and off on my rough outline of sorts, adding some stuff, and trying to figure out how on earth it was going to work. One of my good and epic friends, Mercy, read through my outline (which was full of typos thanks to my having written it on a Kindle) and told me what she absolutely loved (read: that her character would be back), and what she absolutely hated (read: there was nothing. Okay, maybe I’m lying.) Between the two of us, I was able to come up with a decent idea for what my antagonist was going to use. I searched around on the Internet until I was able to find a good evil name for my bad guy (Aza’zel), and once that was done, I laid my ideas aside.

Until the last week of October. I started working frantically on obvious plot holes and generally panicked as I waited for November to finally start. And once it did, I started writing quickly, averaging nearly 2,000 words a day (it would’ve been more, but I worked on other stories.) Halfway through the month, I realized some bad news: my novel was not going to reach 50,000 words.

I fell apart. Big time. How was I going to come up with MORE so that I could reach my target? And even if I reached my target, that wouldn’t be enough. My previous book was nearly 65,000 words. This one had to be longer! Frantically, I began reading all the pep talks ever posted on NaNo, and then turned to my rescuer: Mercy. I was literally in tears, and she saved the day as she told me what my problem was. I was rushing through the story (because I wanted to get to the really epic parts) and I wasn’t taking time to develop some of the side characters. But that wasn’t all she did. Mercy gave me several extremely helpful ideas that added nearly approximately 15,000 words (if not more) to my novel, along with so much more helpful criticism and praise. Without her, goodness knows where I would have been by now.

That said, I reached 50,000 words on the 26th—one day faster than the previous year! I still wasn’t done, but I was so sick of writing I set the novel aside and rested for several weeks, hardly touching it. Finally, I spent several days finishing it up, and ended up with over 60,000 words—much more than I had thought I’d have!

Of course, there was editing afterwards. It’s always harder to edit your own work, since you’ve read it so many times already. Still, I was able to find some errors and fixed them. And later RhynalliYah edited Book 2, and I fixed all the errors she found. As of now, she’s going through it a second time, so we’ll see how awful it is after surviving Round 1. I’m also busy in the process of once more self-publishing it as to get my free copies, and hopefully in the near future, start distributing it. Only time will tell.

For the select few who have read Book 2, or for anyone who’s read the first one. .you might want to know what’ll happen in the next book, and if it’ll be the last one. As of now, I do not plan to end it yet. If all goes as planned, there will be four books in the series. Aza’zel (the villain of Book 2) will NOT be returning in Book 3. At least not directly. So far. It will take place about one year after Book 2’s events, so Chad’ll be a freshman in college. I have a basic idea on who I want to be the villain, but other than that, there’s not much that I’m willing to say. You can just wait and see. Unless, of course, your name is Mercy. And your last name starts with a B. And ends in an L. Other than that, no luck.

As always, thanks for sticking around and dropping by. Likes, follows, and comments are appreciated. Have a good one, peoples.

Less than three,

Josh

 If I can stop one heart from breaking/I shall not live in vain/If I can ease one life the aching/Or cool one pain/ Or help one fainting robin/Unto his nest again/I shall not live in vain. –Emily Dickinson

2 thoughts on “Chronicles of Imaginus: Book 2

  1. Would it be okay with you if I temporarily changed my legal name to Mercy Bychell? I’d reeeally like to know more about Book 3. I am so impatient. >_>

    And… were you serious when you said you were “literally” in tears? If so… seriously, maybe you shouldn’t put so much emotion into finishing 50,000 words in one months. o.O

    P.S. “What *would* you know”? Seriously? How much more grammar freakish can you get? 😛

  2. Christian, you silly boy. No. You may not change your name to be the same as mine. That would be just….awkward.

    I feel very special after reading this post, Jwosh! You make me sound like your “literary savior”, when all I did was point your plot in the right direction. (Well, and correct your typos. They bothered me.) It’s always an honor and a joy to assist a fellow author/Grammar Nazi. Especially one who is as awesome as you are. (Yes, I’ll admit it. But just this once.)

    Anyways. I’m eagerly awaiting my paperback copy of Book Two, complete with your official signature and witty comment(s). Plus, I wouldn’t mind having my name in the back of the book again. . . just saying.

    We’re six months away from NaNo 2013, so let’s get started on your new plot! I can’t wait to be a part of this third installment.

Leave a Reply

