First Post!

Greetings, netizens! (Isn’t that a delightful word, netizens? Someone mentioned that word to me some time ago. It’s a portmanteau of  Inter*net* and cit*izens*. Hence, netizens. Or, if you would rather, Internet citizens. But let us get out of the parentheses.) I could start my first post with the typical “If-you’re-reading-this” junk, but I won’t. However, if you happened to randomly stumble onto this little blog in the middle of the great and vast thing called the Internet, and you decided to go to the first post to see what this is all about, mayhaps you should direct your attention to the other pages on this site. There you can find out more about the blogger, which would be me. Of course. That being said, welcome. Salut. Namaste. Or whatever you wish to say, in whatever language you wish to speak. Whether it is Swahili, Hebrew, Eseperanto, Welsh, or Chinese, I don’t care. I welcome you.

For those of you who already know something about me, and probably are reading this because of some effort on my part, you might not know just exactly what I’m going to be doing here. Right now, what I want to use this for is for one thing: writing. I’ll post random stuff that I’ve written, or write something specifically to post here, and sometimes just ramble and say what’s on my mind. As a fair warning, I’m quite critical. But to be fair, I’m not mean about it. Unless, of course, you’re being judgmental or downright immature, and type something like this: “i dont no y ur being so stupid about it i mean thats completely idiotic ur so lame for not watching twilight come on lets be real thats teh best movie ever ur lame im not gunna talkto u anymore bye.” (It caused both me and my word processor great pain to type that out. My word processor kept auto-correcting the errors, and I had trouble actually using incorrect grammar and spelling. I apologize most sincerely.) So. If you’re gonna talk like that, I’ll probably be a little blunt. Particularly if you do it over and over.

That being said, if some of you are curious as to just exactly what I’m going to be posting, I have several little stories that I’ve written throughout the years. Some of them were written many years ago, and are the cause of great embarrassment on my part. I may or may not post parts of them as we go along, but we will see. At the moment, I’m not sure how frequently I’ll be posting, but I think I’ll try to do this once a week. Currently on my list of things I have planned on posting in bits include a memoir I’m working on that details what happened during my trip to the States, the Caribbean, and Europe last year, a mediocre sci-fi novel I started working on a few years ago, my various short stories I’ve worked on over the years, and parts of my first full-length novel “The Chronicles of Imaginus: Book 1.”

For those of you who don’t know, I wrote it in November 2011 during NaNoWriMo (www.nanowrimo.org) and then proceeded to edit it myself and self-publish it. It hasn’t been distributed, so it’s not as if it’s out for the public, though I have sold copies. I’ll soon write a post about the book, explaining more about the plot, what I did, and whatnot. For those of you who read Book 1, I wrote the first 50,000 words for Book 2 in November 2012 (again for NaNoWriMo) in 26 days. Book 2 is currently just a few hundred words longer than the first one, and if I may say so myself, is far better than the previous one. I mean, it’s bound to be better if there are dragons and sorcerers and time travel, isn’t it? Both books are being edited by a good friend of mine, RhynalliYah! Shameless plugging here, but you can check out her blog at www.eyelit.wordpress.com and check out all the awesome stuff she does. Do it, and I’ll love you forever. Don’t do it. .I still will. But the ones who visited it get stuffs. Don’t ask what.

All right, if you’ve stuck with me this far (and we’re at over 700 words already), I award you a virtual Internet cookie. Here, have a bite. It’s nommy. I’ll stop writing for now, but I’ll be back sooner or later. Do leave a comment if you feel like it, and if you’re feeling extra-wonderful today, you can always follow me. Or tell somebody about it. They can get a free virtual cookie as well.

And that’s all for now, folks. Glad you dropped by today!

Less than three*,

Josh

“Do not owe anyone anything, except to love one another, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.  The commandments: Do not commit adultery; do not murder; do not steal; do not covet; and whatever other commandment—all are summed up by this: Love your neighbor as yourself.” –Romans 13:8-9

*If you don’t know what less than three is, let me Google that for you. You’d probably recognize it if I typed it in characters, though.

16 thoughts on “First Post!

  1. Yay! First comment! I know, I sound like a twelve-year-old on Whitsend.org. But, hey, this is your first real blog, and I get to be the first one to comment!

    Nice first post. I didn’t visit the blog of your friend, so I don’t get stuffs, but you’ll still love me forever. 😀

    I can’t wait to read the things you post! (Unless it’s stuff I’ve already read; then I’ll eagerly await the day when you get to the stuff I haven’t read. ;))

  2. @Christian–You should check out her stuff still 😉 And congratulations on being the first person to comment. You can get an extra-large cookie 😀
    @Kimmeh–We started the same day B-) Totally awesome!
    @RhynalliYah–I figured you’d like it! ^^ And yes, you may feel special =P

  3. Sweet..I like your new blog. 😀 I’d lost the link to your old blog so it was nice to be notified by our mutual friend RhynalliYah that you’d started blog. 🙂
    ~Maine

  4. Nice blog Josh! I’m bookmarking it, so I’ll hopefully remember to read it 🙂

    Any particular reason there’s a random balloon towards the bottom of the page?

  5. Josh made me leave a reply!

    I kid. This blog is away for him to get his name out and remind me that my spelling and grammar is horrid. To the point that I don’t know how he can be friends with me.

    because i easy type like this and talk about once upon a time

  6. Aww. You moved the balloons. 😦 I thought it was fun when there was a random one that floated on top of the post as I was reading it. 😉

    I did end up going to RhynalliYah’s blog. My dad’s probably going to ask me why. 😛 But I like the Kindle-in-book idea! 😀

    Now you must give me stuffs–in addition to the extra-large cookie! 😡

  7. @JP–You’ll remember. I’m sure of it =P No, there isn’t. It must be with the style.
    @Christian–What’s wrong with her blog? Why would your dad ask? But she does have a lot of cool ideas ^^ You can get an awesome sticker.

  8. Hey Josh! Great job starting this new blog, it looks great! And hey, looks like you have quite the following already! 😉

Leave a Reply

